PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Exhaust questions.

PipeMePlz
07-31-2006, 07:02 AM
OK. Im new to this so, I need a little help.

I want to pipe my 05' 400ex. Money is an issue. So i have a few questions.
1) Will a slip on give me way less power as apposed to adding the header?
2) Would i need to adjust my jets with just a slip on and new air filter?
3) Is it just better overall to go with whole system (filter/jets/header/pipe)?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

rooster300ex
07-31-2006, 08:19 AM
Your gonna get alot of opinions on this.

If money is an issue I would go with a HMF Slip-on. Yea a larger headpipe is gonna give ya lil more horsepower when jetted right. Yes you will need to rejet after adding slip on & more free flowing filter. If not your fuel/air mixture just won't be right. It will be running lean, which isn't good. It creates more heat.

amonomous
07-31-2006, 08:20 AM
Alright here you go

1) Yes it will give you less power
2) You do need to change your jetting
3) Thats pretty much up to u, u can just do it in incriments if u want but it doesnt matter

bwamos
07-31-2006, 08:48 AM
I would agree..

You will get less hp w/o the header.. but being that $$$ is an issue.. get an HMF Slip-on and add a WB or FMF header later. ;)

Yes, you definatly, absolutley will need to rejet. (thats a good thing, more air + more fuel = more power)

When you buy HMF they can send you a reccomended jetting setup. It should get you very close.

Chin_Chilla
08-01-2006, 12:20 PM
i got complete exhaust very complimentary on ur stock to mild tuned 400EX. Gives great power and huge torque. If i were you id get the complete exhaust instead of 1 part at a time, its cheaper and u get what you want faster. check out my thread:

http://www.exriders.com/vbb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=244723

thanks, Chin_Chilla!

idontknowwhoiam
08-01-2006, 08:44 PM