PDA

View Full Version : Good dirtbike for driving on road??

xtullyx16
07-18-2006, 01:20 AM
whats a good sized dirtbike to drive to town and stuff and/or to putt/play around on?? i was looking at 250 4 stroke but those are huge bikes.. and im a beginner i just want something thats fast and good on gas.. 2 stroke would be fine i guess but dont they take up alotta gas?? thanks guys im not lookin for awsome mostly stock .. and could i put on an exhaust if i used it on the road? thanks for all help.. and oh yeah would it be hard to get a license to drive it in Ohio??

firefighterjosh
07-18-2006, 01:36 AM
You can pick up a Kawi 700 Street bike for like $800. If your looking for a on offroad bike I would get a eduro. I don;t know alot about bikes but I think they make enduros from 250cc to 650cc

xtullyx16
07-18-2006, 01:42 AM
i was really wanting just a regular dirtbike that i could ride to work saving miles and gas on my truck and sumthin to rip in my woods lol and it doesnt have to be absolutely fast like atleast go 60 to keep up with the cars and not slow them down.

firefighterjosh
07-18-2006, 01:57 AM
Were do you live? Here in Indiana You can register your quad/dirt bike for the road but you can only ride back roads

redgrizz
07-18-2006, 06:49 AM
well firsy off ur not gonna be able to put a 2 stroke on the road.....unless u have a lot of money lol. A bike that can hold 60 mph is probly gonna have to be bigger then a 250 fourstroke, unless you are comfortable at winding the thing out for extended periods. some bikes you can dualsport can be the xr line or a drz or klx. Check them out

rooster400ex
07-18-2006, 07:48 AM
what your looking for is prolly a crf250x or a wr250 i think they r wr's, the yamaha ones.

bwamos
07-18-2006, 07:55 AM
Well...
If you're looking for a streetable bike a 2-stroke is not an option. I don't think you can license a newer 2-stroke in any of the 50 states.