PDA

View Full Version : Rear Wheel Bearing problems

ELewandowski
06-28-2006, 06:02 AM
I am in the process of tearing down my rearend. I can't figure out the lock nut. This is the first time i have ever done any kind of axle work on my quad. I did a search and got some useful info, but i need a little more. Which of the two nuts do i loosen first? And which way do I loosen it? In the search I did some people said they used a pipe wrench, being a plumber i have plenty of those for the job, but i dont want to tear up the nuts. Is it worth ordering axle nut wrenches? And I saw something about a c-clip being involved, should I also invest in the c-clip pliers? Thanks for any info you can give me. The more detail the better.

TIA

Eric

06-28-2006, 07:23 AM
they are a left hand thread and the outer(closest to right side wheel) loosens first.

the c-clip is a pain in the arse, even with spring clip pliers, but they make the job a A LOT easier

do you have a shop manual? i have a honda manual and if need be, i'll scan the pages necessary for you and email them to you if you have high speed interent as the files will be large

Sjorge450R
06-28-2006, 07:59 AM
Originally posted by ELewandowski
I am in the process of tearing down my rearend. I can't figure out the lock nut. This is the first time i have ever done any kind of axle work on my quad. I did a search and got some useful info, but i need a little more. Which of the two nuts do i loosen first? And which way do I loosen it? In the search I did some people said they used a pipe wrench, being a plumber i have plenty of those for the job, but i dont want to tear up the nuts. Is it worth ordering axle nut wrenches? And I saw something about a c-clip being involved, should I also invest in the c-clip pliers? Thanks for any info you can give me. The more detail the better.

TIA

Eric