PDA

View Full Version : E-85

juiced450r
06-27-2006, 05:23 PM
Anyone running e-85 in their bikes? I gained 2 bikes on my buddy just by switching to it. We switched his then and it was back to the same distance. Haven't had it to the dyno yet though. Some guys are claiming 4-5 hp. Just wanting to know if anyone else has had success with it.

IOWAracer
06-27-2006, 05:27 PM
WOW i might switch if that is the case idk though i will wait and here what other guys have to say thats kinda impressive though 5 hp just on gas that is cheaper lol

R3Concepts
06-27-2006, 07:13 PM
E85 makes the same power as Oxy fuels, and IS NOT for the average Joe.

juiced450r
06-27-2006, 07:20 PM
Not for the average Joe?? I have been running nothing but E-85 through my bike for 2 months, no problems yet. It just takes a little longer to warm up. Actually it is not like U2 or U4 it is basically alcohol. It makes more power than U4 in my bike by a significant margin and is not $80.00 for 5 gallons. Anyone can run this by just rejetting the carb.

450robot
06-27-2006, 07:21 PM
e-85 wouldnt even run a 450r properly, way to low of an octane, besides it would reak hell on you internal seals, tubes, and gaskets if left in it due to the high alcohol content of it

juiced450r
06-27-2006, 07:25 PM
Dude E-85 has a 105 octane rating!!! Obviously you have not tried it in anything. Yeah I am lying that is why my bikes performance increased. Don't knock it till you try it and don't accuse me of lying if you have no idea what you are talking about!!!!!!!!!!!!!

450robot
06-27-2006, 07:26 PM
i'll admit to not knowing the octane rating

but i still stand on my other points

GPracer2500
06-27-2006, 08:28 PM
Agreed on the corrosive properties of E85. Flex-Fuel-Vehicles that can run E85 have different fuel system parts that allow their use.

If your going to run E85, then at the minimum I'd drain the E85 from the fuel system and flush with regualar gasoline after each ride.

honduh440
06-27-2006, 08:40 PM