PDA

View Full Version : stocks

Warnerade
06-22-2006, 04:59 PM
would it be smart to start investing in a few stocks? I am looking into Boeing, Apple, and Energy Conversion Devices...putting 10, 10, and 50 into each stock a month...

Anything i should know or be aware of?

JOEX
06-22-2006, 09:50 PM
Originally posted by NacsRacer027
would it be smart to start investing in a few stocks? I am looking into Boeing, Apple, and Energy Conversion Devices...putting 10, 10, and 50 into each stock a month...

Anything i should know or be aware of?
I don't know alot about purchasing stocks directly but most often there's a minimum share purchase. If you want to do a monthly investment mutual funds may be something to look into. That's what i've been doing since about 1992.

They say a 'no load' fund is better, has to do with upfront fees. Not sure on the details because I was a bit more gullible back then and probably paid more than I should have.

The sooner you start saving the better, the growth will be minimal for possibly many years but as time goes on compounding has a dramatic effect.

I sure miss those years of 30%+ annual returns:ermm: :p

derekhonda
06-22-2006, 09:53 PM
Look into a Roth IRA. Put untaxed money in, earn interest (tax free) and you can pull it out for school, house, or when you are 60 for retirement. (you can pull it out earlier, but then you pay tax on the money you pull out, plus a penalty)

JOEX
06-22-2006, 10:09 PM
Originally posted by derekhonda
Look into a Roth IRA. Put untaxed money in, earn interest (tax free) and you can pull it out for school, house, or when you are 60 for retirement. (you can pull it out earlier, but then you pay tax on the money you pull out, plus a penalty)
I belive the money put into a Roth IRA has been taxed. There isn't a deduction available for contributions but 'earnings' are untaxed.

A brief summery
http://www.fairmark.com/rothira/roth101.htm

Pappy
06-22-2006, 10:33 PM
Originally posted by derekhonda