PDA

View Full Version : a knive Q

PowerJunkie
06-20-2006, 11:24 AM
hey i am wanting to buy a mid sized gerber pocket knive just to put in my pocket everyday for when i might need it for something. but i am thinking about getting a black one. the blade and all that is painted black. but my Q is does the black paint stratch easly or come off? and would you recomed it. or should i just get wtih no paint? thanks alot

06-20-2006, 11:38 AM
The paint on my pocket knife dose not come off easily. Sure it has some scratches but it holds up good. I would recommend it.

coolex
06-20-2006, 11:44 AM
http://www.gerbergear.com/product.php?model=6701#

this is my gerber knive i swaer by it i have it all day and every where i go and i mean every where. sharp enogh to shave with.very strong. nice looking IMO, good cutting , goo protection for when needed

i have no experience with the black bladed ones but if u want a nice knive relatively cheap 25-50 i suggest this one

PowerJunkie
06-20-2006, 12:26 PM
i was thinking about this one
http://www.gerbergear.com/product.php?model=8444

what do you think

hondardr4life
06-20-2006, 12:47 PM
Look into Case xx knives. They are extremely high quality, and do not wear out.

PowerJunkie
06-20-2006, 02:10 PM
i not a fan of case really. thnks though

Stevie-D
06-20-2006, 03:01 PM

i've got that knife. perfect for carrying with you. the frame is extremely light, you don't even know that you have it on you. the finish also holds up extremely well. haven't scratched paint off of mine yet. definately recommend it:blah:

Scott-300ex
06-20-2006, 03:08 PM
The black doesn't come off easily unless you sharpen it, or scratch it against something hard, then it will scratch and lighten the color up.

I'm a Kershaw fan myself, I have a Kershaw spring assist. They are very sharp, stay sharp and are strong, get 440 grade if you can.

Also get a partially serrated blade, they will cut threw some tough stuff in one cut vs. 4 cuts with the fine blade.

coolex