PDA

View Full Version : Why does it seem Polaris Gets such a bad rep?

Vertical Smile
06-13-2006, 09:16 AM
I'm new to this whole Quad thing and bought myself a 05 TLD Predator a few months ago, I LOVE IT.
I tested a bunch of other Quads (Raptor 700, TRX450, KFX700) and liked the feel of the Predator the best for trail riding. Not that the others were slouches by any means.
I've noticed on many ATV boards as well as Magazine articles (which are far and few between) Polaris Quads seem to be looked down upon.
Why is that?
I personally love my new machine and I guess I really shouldn't listen to all the negative Hype.
A few weeks ago I was riding on some trails and I ran into a few guys, one on a 400EX & another on a Raptor 660. They asked me why I bought the Pred.
They told me they we totally unrealiable and built terrible. I asked them if they've ever owned one, and neither had................hell they told me they never even rode one.
I dismissed them as a couple of blowhards and went on my way.

People need to lighten up.........

06-13-2006, 09:28 AM
i have never owned one and never will. it boils down to this with me...there have been many polaris bikes in my riding group over the years....even the new ones could not go on a ride because there was something wrong with them, they were in the shop.

i recently got a chance to ride a pred for the first time about a month ago. i have been riding for 20+ years and had a hard time steering this thing on the trail. jumping it felt like jumping my father-in-laws 1995 honda 300 ute bike, only not as smooth. i planted the nose in the ground and kissed the bars with my chest. it was the hardest 2 or 3 foot landing i have ever taken. turning it was hard also...there was nothing, nothing, then it turned...maybe it was not in the best of shape...it was the first time i have ever ridden with the guy, but from my past experiences with polaris quads, i would tend to believe that it was just the way it was designed.