PDA

View Full Version : 300EX Motor Rebuild

QuadRacr57
05-29-2006, 09:00 AM
Hey I have a 1996 300ex and i've raced it the past 3 years. So the motor has taken quite a beating over the past 10 years. I am starting to think that i should tear the motor apart and replace the rocker arms and springs and whatnot. Do you think i should rebuild it and maybe mod the motor up a little bit, or should i just use it this season and buy a 400 or 450? Im new to this, so if you think i should rebuild it, what should i replace? Thanks

-Mike:confused:

RiderTRX400ex
05-29-2006, 06:12 PM
seeing how its 10 yrs old and has been raced.. it sounds like it would be a good time to tear deep into the motor and go over everything and replace all bearings and seals, piston, rings.. all the goodies.. as far as a new 400 or 450, it depends on how fast you want to go.. it will take some money to make a 300 run with the bigger quads, so think it over before you dump a lot of money into that 300

Lamont400ex
05-29-2006, 06:59 PM
I just rebuilt my 2003 400 ex to a 416 with all performance parts. Now my buddy is still running his 2001 300 ex with no problems. I have a few buddy's who race and they all agree that the 300 is the longest lasting. My experience is that a 10 year old quad is paid for in full and no matter what you aint going ot get much for them. The rebuild is quite easy so I recomend rebuild complete and go all performance. Cost is going to be alot less then new an you are starting with a new engine so giddy up. Good luck

QuadRacr57
05-30-2006, 02:21 PM
Originally posted by Lamont400ex