PDA

View Full Version : Bleeding Brakes

Quad18star
05-25-2006, 06:38 AM
Alright , so over the weekend I totally cooked the pads on my "new" Grizzly . When I say cooked , I mean totally fried to the point where the backing plate that holds the pad melted and wore right through ( I'll get pics at a later date of the damage) .

So now it's time to replace these suckers with new ones . I went to the dealer yesturday and picked up a new set and installed them . I had to push the pistons down with a pair of channel locks , installed the pads and mounted everything back up .... but now I have NO BRAKES at all in the rear . The foot peddle goes all the way down and the hand lever is very spongy and goes right to the bar with no hint of any brakes . My best guess is that there is air in the line ... so I'm gunna bleed the brakes to see if this solves the problem .

This is my first attempt at doing this so I want to make sure I'm doing it properly .... here's How I was explained how to do it ... let me know if this is the right way or if there is an easier way of doing it .

Instructions ....

Fill brake reservoir to the upper level .
Pump the hand brake a few times then hold it to the bar .
Open up 1 or the 2 bleeder screws and let the fluid flow for a few seconds .
Tighten back the bleeder screw and pump the hand brake again , hold to the bar and re-open the screw to let fluid flow again .
Tighten and repeat until the is just constant flow of fluid and no sign of air bubbles

Repeat procress with 2nd bleeder screw .

Does this sound right to you guys or should I open up bloth bleeder screws at the same time ??

I don't have a manual for this bike yet and my dealer doesn't have one in stock , so I need help to get my brakes back before I head out on a ralley this weekend .

Scro
05-25-2006, 07:31 AM