PDA

View Full Version : engine problems

travis starkey
05-25-2006, 02:13 AM
i have a 1987 honda trx 250x fourtrax.it only starts with choke on but wont run with it on.it runs for about 30 min or so and then it dies.the choke moves itself up to on and thats when it dies.i was jus wondering why the choke would do that.if the choke needs replaced bout how much will it cost.

sixer3
05-25-2006, 12:46 PM
its just old, zip tie that sucker open or something

travis starkey
05-25-2006, 03:38 PM
ive tried that before but for some reason it still acts like it does when its loose.it dies just like it does when the choke moves up but it doesnt move.im new to fourwheelers so idk a lot about them jus lookin for help.

sixer3
05-25-2006, 11:03 PM
clean out your airfilter, and make sure your snorkel isnt clogged by anything like a rat or just gunk and build-up, and also clean the carb out real good

travis starkey
05-27-2006, 12:52 AM
thanks for the help but it doesnt have to do with the carb its over heating badly.if u dont let it die it runs fine but once it does die it has to sit for about 30 to 45 min before riding it again.idk whats wrong im goin to run it like this till i can get it in the shop.if its somethin easy to fix around the house let me know but if not ill jus put it in the shop. thanks again for the help before

travis starkey
05-27-2006, 05:54 AM
how much would a bigger jet cost.

YZ400EX
05-28-2006, 12:56 AM
Originally posted by travis starkey
how much would a bigger jet cost.

Maybe $3-$5..

LT250RMan
05-29-2006, 08:57 PM
i had almost the same problem, with my old trail boss quad (20 years old) would only run with the choke half on, i just got a diffrent carb and it fixed the problem, so i would take the carb off and take it apart and clean it really good and put new seals and new jets in the carb that should fix your problem

travis starkey
05-29-2006, 11:08 PM