PDA

View Full Version : 250R Head Job

PYF
05-24-2006, 12:32 PM
Hi, this is my first post on this forum and probably not the last :)...Ok, since I just registered on the forum I will describe myself a little bit ...I live in Alma,quebec,canada and I'm 18 years old. I'm currently studying mechanical engineering..I always dreamed of getting a R and finally got one one month and a half ago. Before that, I rode a 86 quadsport 230 and 94 300ex
I really loves the honda reliability and I like to be the underdog so I bought a R (Everybody here have 450 and 'shees)
I'd like to show them what the ''legend'' can still do today :devil:

I'm already registred on a few quads forums but I've been told to come here since the others forums were mainly focusing on the 450r, not the old R anymore :(

I attached a pic of about a month ago to show the quad. The previous guy painted them ( :confused: ) but I fixed the problem and will take new pics soon. I've got a killer for 1950$ but I had some ( a lot ) of work to do on it and had to travel more than 300 miles to get it but it was well worth it :devil:

I recently tore apart my R to rebuild my main bearings and seals since the flywheel side bearing had a little play in it and was probably going out but since it's already tore, I will change the piston/rings and some others bearings. I will as well give a little 'treat' to my cylinder/cyl. head... A porting/milling job

My question is about that. I was wondering about something...The 250r Compression ratio is 7.7:1... Would bringing it to about 10:1 (If it's doable)(Like a 250 mx bike) + a mild porting job bring the HP to a realistic mid-40 hp's?

Seems realistic since a 250 MX bike have about 50 hp. Don't know if it even have sense since I'm not an engine builder myself so I'm not sure if everything I stated is doable...

I'm still asking since there are a lot of knowledgeable people around here....

Thanks a lot in advance :)

Pierre-Yves