PDA

View Full Version : rebuilt head using original piston?

ryanh250ex
05-23-2006, 01:32 AM
OK, so i have a bit of a dilemma on my hands.

my 250ex has 100-110 hrs of use on it. i've always taken good care of it, but realistically, i've ridden the snot out of it.

lately i've been noticing some smoke on start up, when you rev it up, it will smoke on deceleration. i personally thought it was kinda weird. I figured maybe valve seals.

I had a buddy start going through the gears on it, and while the bike was not warm (it had only been running for maybe 2-3 minutes), as he was going from 1/4 slowly to full throttle, i did notice a very small amount of blue-tinted smoke come from the tailpipe. it quickly dissipated into nothing, and went away once the bike had warmed up a bit.

I'm suspecting that the valve guides and seals are letting oil through. So, i was thinking about eventually doing a rebuild. However.....

I'm a college student now, and riding is really not nearly as important as it used to be. I still love riding as much as when i first threw a leg over a bike, but as i've gotten older, i have more responsibilities, and the simple fact is that it's a hobby, nothing more, nothing less.That said, i dont want to spend an insane amount of money on a rebuild on a bike i am not even home to ride all that much.

So, since the 250 runs GREAT- starts up first crank every time, pulls hard through every gear, i can yank power wheelies in 3rd- but seems to have a problem with puffing smoke on cold engine deceleration, can i do a rebuild on the head, and mate it to the original piston?

also, what should i expect to pay for a decent head rebuild?

ohsobad_chevy
05-23-2006, 08:35 AM
I would definately not put the piston back into a newly honed head. You will need to get a new one (about 100 bucks) but worth it. If you have your head honed you are lookin at about 75 bucks or so. Strongly suggest that you get a new piston.

ryanh250ex
05-23-2006, 11:27 AM