PDA

View Full Version : question for megamax exhaust

michael250
05-11-2006, 08:05 PM
This weekend im goin ridin and i decided im gonna run my pipe with no discs just strait open. is that alright for . it wont like break anything right?thanks

ryanh250ex
05-12-2006, 09:51 AM
aside from incorrect jetting and pissing off everyone around you, no, no problems whatsoever :rolleyes:

michael250
05-12-2006, 01:50 PM
what are u talkin bout pissin ppl off?

ryanh250ex
05-12-2006, 01:55 PM
Originally posted by michael250
what are u talkin bout pissin ppl off? what did i ever do to you?

the noise... discs are there for noise suppression and to change the amount of backpressure ....

why would you want to run like that anyways

michael250
05-12-2006, 02:15 PM
well why not run it that way you said it wouldnt do anything. what is back pressure?(im new to this)

ryanh250ex
05-12-2006, 03:46 PM
Originally posted by michael250
well why not run it that way you said it wouldnt do anything. what is back pressure?(im new to this)

oh boy :rolleyes:

i was being sarcastic about it not doing anything. I would have figured you would have picked up on it via the rolling eyes smiley, but nooo, that would only be the rational thing to think. Do you ride the short bus to school?

Anyways...

the megaPOS (sorry, megamax) exhaust relies on discs. the discs can be added or removed as necessary to change the power curve and sound levels. it changes both via backpressure.

the definition of backpressure is pretty self-explanatory- it is the amount of pressure that doesnt want to flow through. i guess you could call it the resistance of airflow.

lots of backpressure means you'll have lots of low end torque, but you wont have much for top end.

no backpressure translates into a crappy low end but it will do well on top end.

for max performance you need SOME level of backpressure, otherwise you'll burn up exhaust valves.