PDA

View Full Version : Rascal Eton 40 cc issues

yfz450admirer
05-09-2006, 09:26 AM
I bought this Rascal. I have replaced the ignition (spark plug wire and module), and the control module (square shaped module with two wires coming out of it). The quad gets plenty of spark. I can not keep the quad running for more than 10 minutes on the trail, it just dies out of nowhere when the throttle is pushed. When I look at the spark plug it is wet and it appears to have been flooded? When I have the quad at my house on a support I have kept the quad running for more than 20 minutes without any problems and than just turned it off myself.
Any ideas?
thanks

Dave J.
05-12-2006, 05:20 AM
It sounds like you have a fuel issue. I have no experience with the 40 but do with the 90’s. They have a filter in the line at the tank that will clog. Also it could be the jet in your carb that has become clogged. I would suspect the carb. Pull the jets out and see if you can see through them holding them to the light. If not clean them till you do.

yfz450admirer
05-15-2006, 02:59 PM
Thanks for the input. I have done both things multiple times in the past without any change. Any other ideas?

2StrokeGod
05-15-2006, 06:46 PM
Check your spark plug i have the same bike and insulator came loose and moved up and down and gave me the same results.

yfz450admirer
06-13-2006, 02:03 PM
I have replaced the spark plug multiple times. This quad is making me crazy.
The plug fouls out a lot and there are not very many adjustments on the carburetor any suggestions?
I have been running 32:1 oil-gas, but I am going to try 50:1 to see if that helps.
Oil drips from the end of the pipe when idling.

thanks for the input!

Livin4Real
06-13-2006, 05:17 PM
try a smaller main jet

yfz450admirer
06-15-2006, 01:03 PM
50:1 did not help anything. The carburetor has a very basic design and there does not appear to be any main jets in its's configuration.

Dave J.
06-15-2006, 07:51 PM