PDA

View Full Version : Engineering

PolarisRider06
05-08-2006, 07:00 PM
who here is any type of engineer and what exactly do you do? i have been accepted to both UND and NDSU for engineering but i haven't decided exactly what kind of engineering i want to do. i want to go into a field where there is quite a bit of hands on stuff as well as the desk BS.... i don't want to be stuck in front of a computer all of the time i want to be able to get out and get my hands dirty and actually do something constructive.

omaits
05-08-2006, 07:38 PM
I am a Software Engineer. Doesn't really sound like something you are interested in by your post. I like it. Contrary to what most people think, I get to meet alot of people, travel, and don't spend all day in front of a computer.

05-08-2006, 07:39 PM
i dont think many engineers work in the field to extensivly. an engineer's job is to know how to design somthing, not to do the actual job at hand.

im sure there is some more 'hands on' jobs than others tho.

i used to work for a drilling contractor, we did some environmental work installing test wells. There would be an environmental consulting company there aswell, making sure everything is done right... I alwasy found it funny that it requires no formal traing to install a well, but it takes 4 years of college to watch sombody install a well.

killed300ex
05-08-2006, 07:54 PM
I am in school for civil engineering. I like it i am interested in the surveying end of it. Definitly have in hands on and desk work if you want. One person can start a project and follow it from an empty lot right to a major building. I love it.
Evan

Quad18star
05-08-2006, 08:12 PM
Civil Engineer here ... well atleast that's what the diploma says . I never got a job in this field , mainly because I didn't want to get a job in it ... it just didn't interest me as much as I thought it would .