PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on getting low end back

-copyguy-
05-04-2006, 07:43 PM
I bought my first quad last year, a 2000 400ex in decent shape. I spent some time learning to ride and then tried out a poker run. During the ride, I found out 2 things, first that my tires were worn out (for the mud I was going through) and second that I needed more clearance.

To fix both, I got a nice set of Razr2 22" rears. I knew that these would take away some of my low end, so I dropped the front sprocket down to a 14 tooth to try to gain some back. This helped, but not enough...I'm a big guy (~275) and need all the grunt I can get out of the engine when climbing a hill.

My ride style is fairly laid back and cautious (I'm still learning to ride), so top end speed isn't a big deal to me. I'm thinking of upping the rear sprocket to a 39 (or 40) tooth to help out, but don't know if the 39 will be enough.

Are there any other inexpensive ways to bump up the low end a little? I've got a foam filter on the machine, but other than the tires and the front sprocket, the machine is stock.

Yoshi or FMF Exhaust is planned for the future, but I don't have the cash for it now.

Thanks.

-copyguy-

GPracer2500
05-04-2006, 08:13 PM
One tooth on the rear is a fairly small change--tough to notice probably.

This might help. I can't vouch for it's accuracy. Note that the stock redline is 9100 not 8250.

http://home.earthlink.net/~gellett/400ex.htm

1fst400
05-04-2006, 08:16 PM
an exaust will give you all the low end you are looking for.

Untill then. you can always try a 13 front sprocket. them rear ones are to much money to just try it.

did you rejet when you put the filter on? if not that may be somthing to look into, just runs stronger.

is taking the air box lid off an obtion for you. I know mine is off at all times. I go throu some serious water sometimes. the water just beads off the filter when you have good oil on it.

miller821
05-04-2006, 08:19 PM