PDA

View Full Version : a little cheese with your avgas?

BiggerRed 400ex
07-30-2002, 11:51 PM
I am a pilot and have easy access to 100LL avgas. I ride a 400ex and have been contemplating using avgas in a 75/25 or 50/50 mix with premium pump gas. I have read other posts on fuels and stuff but I have a relativly stock bike... (no choke, stage 1 rejet with 2 on the way, K&N filter, and stock airbox with outerwears on the way, stock exhaust with e- series on the way) Im a little confused on why a lot of people are downing avgas.... it contains lead with is good for a motor RIGHT:huh ... AND if it does infact burn COOLER isn't this what we want on an air cooled engine? Im not nessisarily interested in BIG gains like i might expect from a racing fuel but more of keeping the engine happy for a long time , sure i still want gains but i dont expect to get it from fuel... Just still doing research and thought you all might have some input from experience....
P.S. i also know that you have to richen the jetting with avgas.
Thanks
Ryan

big-guy
07-31-2002, 06:07 AM
The only advantage avgas would have would be a resistance to detonation, because of the higher octane. unless you're running insanely high compression, this is overkill. As for the lead, it's mainly there to lubricate the valves, and this really isn't needed in a modern four stroke engine.
A cooler running engine sounds like it would be a good thing, but believe it or not, an engine will produce more power and run more efficiently at a higher temp. Most modern cars will actually idle at around 230 degrees. The only problem with the higher temperature is that it causes the oil to break down, which is why synthetics and blends exist.

Bottom line, avgas would be a waste of money. If you wanted to run alcohol, for say drag racing, that would be reasonable, but keep in mind it will take quite a bit more fuel to produce the same amount of power as gasoline, due to the differences in latent energy.