PDA

View Full Version : Oil Cooler Kit - Not an Oversize Tank

jbirklid
07-29-2002, 10:30 AM
Hey Guys,

After unsuccessfully trying to locate an aftermarket cooler solution for my 400. I decided put together my own oil cooler kit. The design is a bypass of the top end oil passage through an auxiliary cooler. It requires some drill and tap work to the head and clutch covers, however, IMO is the best oil cooling option for the 400. I've been running this setup for 7 months with no problems and after many requests from other curious 400 riders, decided to see if anyone else was interested. All of the components are of very high quality. The cooler is a custom stacked plate design (very durable) so you won't be putting holes in it with a pressure washer or straghtening the fins after every ride. The kits come with two mounting options, either just the cooler on mounting rails or directly to an included aluminum grill for added protection (both are included in the kit). Both options are hard mounted (bolts and locknuts) to the front downtubes in-between the front shocks (no drilling required). I also have full instructions for installation. The setup looks clean and IMO is a must on a modded 400. If anyone is interested let me know and I'll get some pics up in the next few days.

Jason...

JhallettEX
07-29-2002, 10:53 AM
I think you would have to sell this well under $95 becuase FST, Four Stroke Tech, makes the same thing for that price and his are proven.

UglyMotha™
07-29-2002, 11:07 AM
I think i would feel safer with fst plus jhallet qouted the price what would you be charging for yours in order to be competive besides the fact this should've been in the classifieds not to mention i think you should donate to the site like the quadshop does for advertising there stuff:rolleyes:

jbirklid
07-29-2002, 11:19 AM