PDA

View Full Version : lt230 **Just Got** HELP!!

02blzrx
03-28-2006, 08:17 AM
I just picked up a 85 lt230s for $200 I bought this bike on a whim for the wife since the price was right. So I plan for it to be a low budget build. It runs but smokes like crazy, this is the rings from what I gather. Rear caliper is missing (Pretty sure I have located a used one) and rear plastics. It is going to need a lot of love but will be a fun project.
I have a lot of things it could use / needs and I have a lot questions. I have never restored a bike or had a real project or worked on a ATV for that matter. Some small stuff but for the most part just swapping parts. I was a mechanic in the ARMY so I am comfortable turning wrenches just used to working on diesels (oddly enough they were 2 strokes too) Please bare with me if I am of track or just confused.

- First things first. Smoking. I plan on buying a Manual but does anyone one know of one online? I know for my 350x (for sale) I could look at in a .PDF file. The guy I picked it up from said he had seen a webpage that gave a step by step with photos on how to change the rings. Something about how to use a bungee to hold the timing chain. I was wondering if anyone knows of this site?
I have read mixed things where people say they simply replaces the rings and some say they got it rebored. Seeing is I am on a budget I am interested in replacing the rings. How bad does this sound? And how would I find out what bore its on?

Does this sound right?