PDA

View Full Version : case saver

TRX23rider
03-27-2006, 05:18 PM
i just got a a 15t sprocket for my 05 400ex. i thought that i would not have to worry about the case saver but the chain is rubbing against it. what should i do with it? I was thinking i could grind a little of it away but i was not sure if that would be safe.

Huzler
03-27-2006, 05:20 PM
i thnk it would be ok but im not an expert and id try to keep a clean look to it

NacsMXer
03-27-2006, 05:53 PM
Originally posted by TRX23rider
i just got a a 15t sprocket for my 05 400ex. i thought that i would not have to worry about the case saver but the chain is rubbing against it. what should i do with it? I was thinking i could grind a little of it away but i was not sure if that would be safe.

Yeah it would be fine to just take a grinder to it. That's what I had to do to make my Nac's case saver fit my 16T front sprocket. I put the case saver in a vise and used a stone-type grinder attached to a variable speed drill. I just kept grinding and test fitting until everything cleared. There's still plenty of it left for it to do its job too.

TRX23rider
03-27-2006, 06:28 PM
alright! i will do that tomorow

Blue_Streak23
03-28-2006, 01:11 PM
You got the sprocket Tim?:eek2:

Rip_Tear
03-28-2006, 03:59 PM
Just curious why are you guys going so big in the front and not just going with a smaller rear or bigger tires?

NacsMXer
03-28-2006, 04:59 PM
Originally posted by Rip_Tear
Just curious why are you guys going so big in the front and not just going with a smaller rear or bigger tires?

I'm running a 16T front because I got tired of zipping through each gear in like a second. I was always up/downshifting and in between gears on the MX track running 18's out back. Felt like I was riding a 2 stroke. I tried 15/38, 15/36 and 15/39 and was not satisfied. After I got my motor rebuilt, I now have the torque to pull a larger 16T front just like it was a 15T.