PDA

View Full Version : Is it worth it

pastfast125
03-27-2006, 12:51 PM
Is it worth it for me to adjust my valves on my z400? I've had it since a lil before I joined the site and never adjusted them, but I don't have any ticking or any weird noises, should I just let sleeping dogs lay? I just figure while I already have my plastics and gas tank off it would be a good time to do it, but if I'm just gonna end up making it worse then I'd rather leave em alone.

Iliketogofast
03-27-2006, 12:56 PM
If you have an idea of what ou would be doing (and know the clearances, of course) I would suggest that you go ahead and do it.

If you are afraid that you will screw it up, I would fiund somebody who knows how to do it or not do it at all.

pastfast125
03-27-2006, 01:03 PM
I've never done it before, but that's what this site is for:D If theres not really any improvement or anything in it though, I'd rather just not do it.

Oh and PS: I don't take my stuff for anybody else to work on em;)

wilkin250r
03-27-2006, 02:15 PM
Originally posted by pastfast125
I've never done it before,

Oh and PS: I don't take my stuff for anybody else to work on em;)

These two statements are entirely contradictory.

You don't let anybody else work on your stuff, yet you're not willing to do something so simple as a valve adjustment?

Valve adjustments are really easy. You take the covers off, check the clearance on the valves. If they need to be adjusted, you loosen one locknut, twist the adjustment, and tighten the locknut again.

If you're afraid of screwing it up, then maybe you SHOULD let somebody else work on it.

400exrider707
03-27-2006, 02:17 PM
Originally posted by wilkin250r
These two statements are entirely contradictory.

You don't let anybody else work on your stuff, yet you're not willing to do something so simple as a valve adjustment?