PDA

View Full Version : Contrversial BREAK-IN READ!!!!!!!

Big - D Racing
03-19-2006, 05:41 PM
Everyone check out this site and let me know what you think, I am by no means a professional engine builder but I do perform most of the work on my bike besides machine work. This break-in procedure is unlike anything I have ever heard from any engine builder before, but it sounds like it makes sense to me. Any engine builders what do you think about the article. Here it is:
http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

GPracer2500
03-19-2006, 06:00 PM
Mototune's ideas have been around for a while. I like to split the difference--run em' hard but not too hard.

94F450SD
03-19-2006, 06:37 PM
i was always told to break an engine in the way your gonna run it.and i run everything hard.

NacsMXer
03-19-2006, 07:37 PM
I asked Lazarus from GT Thunder about this and he had no objections to it. He told me that when he builds a fresh motor for his racers, they just run them like they normally would.

Of course you would also need to adjust the valves again at some point after everything is broken in. Proper engine pre start-up lubrication is also a must as well.

honda460ex
03-19-2006, 08:25 PM
I have always been told by a couple friends who build race car motors... Run it like your going to run it... They say if its going to come apart or anything go wrong with it, it will happen regardless. I can understand not running it extremely hard just so you can break in the rings decently.

400exrider707
03-19-2006, 11:39 PM
Thats how I break in my engines. Just make sure its nice and warm before you give her he11.

phildogg
03-20-2006, 05:09 PM
thats the way I've always done engines..
phil

jordan_m6
03-20-2006, 05:13 PM
im kind of partial. i start slow but before the end of the day im running 3/4 throttle. i have had no problems with my 400 it actually ran really strong.

wilkin250r
03-21-2006, 12:08 PM
I'm in the middle.