PDA

View Full Version : Synthetics in 450R (both sides)

rcrc32500
03-02-2006, 08:51 PM
I am fairly new to the sport of ATV MX. As a matter of fact I was really introduced to it 2 years ago when I began supporting my nephew's race team - I LOVE IT!

We are just about complete w/ his '06 450R.

I was looking for thoughts on running synthetic lubes in both resevoirs (engine and gear). I have been told countless times that you should not run synthetics on the gear side, but no one has ever given me PROOF as to why this is bad. Synthetics seem the best way to go to me. He ran them in his old 426 the past few years with improved power and virtually no clutch deterioration at all. That said, the bottom end seems to need some work now, and he is concerned it had to do with the synthetic lube - I think it was just age and racing wear and tear.

Thanks in advance for all your .02 cents! Please provide some history/experiences with your explanation - particularly if you think synthetics would be bad for the gear side.

Rico
03-03-2006, 05:50 AM
Better protection, less break down, the list goes on and on. Good luck with your choice but I see NO reason why you couldn't run it.

Rip_Tear
03-03-2006, 02:32 PM
I agree with Rico! I think what info you are getting is the old modifiers thing that people had problems with using oil for a dry clutch instead of a wet clutch.

rcrc32500
03-03-2006, 04:03 PM
Thanks for the info guys.

I feel the same way you all do, I was just a little uneasy hearing so many "just don't do it" comments about synthetics with a clutch.

We've invested too many 1000's to count in the new 450r - just want it to last and run strong.

Any additional input is welcomed.

Rico
03-03-2006, 05:33 PM
Originally posted by rcrc32500
Thanks for the info guys.

I feel the same way you all do, I was just a little uneasy hearing so many "just don't do it" comments about synthetics with a clutch.