PDA

View Full Version : Legal Help (sort of)

APK400exRacer
03-02-2006, 06:13 AM
Well I have been looking at a truck for a LONG time now. Im 15 and turn 16 in August (3rd to be exact) I am about a grand shy of the amount needed for the truck, but could come up with it in no time, maybe even get a loan. Now here is where the help is needed. At 15, am I able to purchase the truck and have my name on the title? Could i purchase this truck and have it be legally mine? Or do i have to be a licensed driver? This is literally my dream truck and been busting my arse to try and get it. I want to buy it now before it is sold and i cant get it anymore.
Basically bottom line can i buy this truck before i am a licensed driver and still have my name 1st on the title?

knighttime
03-02-2006, 06:32 AM
i would guess you could own it at 15:confused:

if not, maybe you could work something out with the owner where you make a down payment, then get it when you turn 16

03-02-2006, 07:20 AM
In P.a, when you transfer a title a drivers licsence is required i believe. I'd call your local quick tags place, they would know better.

ballz2thewall
03-02-2006, 07:38 AM
my uncle gave me a car when I was 15 and I had my name on the title, I did have to get a I.D card though!

gbcap
03-02-2006, 07:41 AM
you h ave to be 16 to title it. but you don't have to title it right away. you can store it at your house with the copy of the title he gave you. when you turn 16 and get your license take it and get it put in your name.

you could also have your rents title it and then switch it to your name later.

Ralph
03-02-2006, 09:33 AM
u dont own anything untill your 18. Until then ur parents own everything. That is unless you pretty much divorce your parents.

PismoLocal
03-02-2006, 09:47 AM
In california you can be on title with your parents, like me i my name and my moms was on the pinks til i turned 18 now its just mine.

ShiftFMX
03-02-2006, 10:03 AM