PDA

View Full Version : 1/2 ton pulling Toy Haulers?

EvilMaximus
03-01-2006, 02:27 PM
Is there anyone out there pulling a toy hauler with a 1/2 ton truck?..what kinda set up do u have? I'm looking at buying a Weekend Warrior 21 toy hauler, it the light weight version..they said u can pull it with a 1/2 ton truck or suv...they owner says he pulls it with a Tahoe with no problems...Just wanted to get some insight on any 1/2 pullers out there and if your having any problems or what special equipment u bought to help your pull...I'm new to trailers so i don't have much of a clue(yet)...Thx for any help...

coolex
03-01-2006, 04:57 PM
do you have a deisel? and wat kind like dodge chevy ford ect.

EvilMaximus
03-01-2006, 05:37 PM
O-Im sry..i have a 2005 Silverado Crewcab 5.3L 15000

lil400exman
03-01-2006, 05:59 PM
You should be alright. I reccomend a transmission cooler if you dont already have one. A electronic brake controller is a must. a 3/4 is best, not for pulling power but for the stronger 4L80E tranny. I know a few guys around here swapped out the L60's (which is what our trucks have) and only a cross-member change.

You should be alright though. Just make sure you use your tow/haul mode and dont be in too much of a rush. That is unless you get a duramax with the 6-speed allison!:devil:

wvspeedfreak
03-01-2006, 06:05 PM
There are several things you can do to help a 1/2 ton truck out for towing.First off is if your truck has an automatic transmission put a big aftermarket trans cooler on it.This will greatly help rid the transmission of heat from the added weight of towing.Second is to put a set of overload or "helper" springs on the rear.Generally 1/2 ton springs are pretty soft and the added helpers will reduce how much the truck will sqat when the trailer is attatched and keep the weight bias at a better ratio.Third is to maybe add a freeflowing exhaust system.This seems to give a little better pulling power.Hope this helps you a little :)

wvspeedfreak