PDA

View Full Version : Fox Float Shocks, my opinions.

Racing Rice
02-20-2006, 08:48 PM
First of all, big props to Motosport.com for getting the here so quickly! They shipped out the same day, and was sent Fedex 2 Day for free! I will definitely order more stuff from them in the future.

I've been running these shocks for a several months, and so far I'm very happy with them.

The install..
The install was overly difficult if you follow the directions. I also think they are WRONG! They tell you to mount the shocks with the air sleeve on top and the valves out. This caused the lower eyelets to hit on the a-arm mounts. I contacted Shane at Fox Shox support to verify that I was doing everything right. He confirmed that I was. After looking at the shocks better, there are two indents on the lower shock eyelet. It appeared to me that this would be there to clear the a-arm mount, but this would put the air valve on the inside of the arm. I asked Shane if it would be okay if it were mounted like this and he said no problem as long as there are no clearance issues. Everything appeared to be fine so that is how I ended up mounting them.

The Shox themselves..
The shocks themselves are really well made! They are considerably lighter then the stock shock, by a few pounds atleast. Sorry I couldn't weigh them, I don't have a scale. All of the hardware seems to be very high quality. The shocks came preset of 50psi which is standard starting pressure. You can easily increase it if you see the need to have them firmer. I've left them at 50psi for now. Fully extended they don't seem to be as long as the stock ones were, they are close but seem to be a little shorter when there is no weight on them.

The Ride..