PDA

View Full Version : 250r timing

trx450rlude
02-20-2006, 03:03 PM
Hello all. I am new here. I just got my first 250r (310 non powervalve motor), its an 86. I just have a couple of questions I would like some help with.

1. I think the timing is off. When I try to start it, it will sometimes backfire and almost blow the exhaust off the head...Is that timing? What else could cause this? Any tips on how to adjust the timing. I do have the manual.

I am fairly new to 2 strokes. I own some 4 strokes already and I'm really good with them....but I am still learning how to tune a 2 stroke. I have a 04 450r and a 03 z400 also.

here is a list of mods on the 250r just for refrence.
310 big bore
Laegar A-arms
Laegar swing arm
Durablue Axle
TCS remote rezzie front shocks
PEP remote rezzie rear shock..
There is alot more to list but Im to lazy at the moment....

thanks for any help guys.

trx450rlude
02-20-2006, 03:09 PM
here is a couple of pics...needs some work, but I only paid 2000 for it, so I pretty happy.

trx450rlude
02-20-2006, 03:13 PM
another

matt250r21
02-20-2006, 03:20 PM
Take the side cover off by the shift lever, this is were the stator, pickup, and flywheel are. Unless you have an aftermarket ignition or an adjustable counter balancer bearing carrier (flywheel pickup bolts to this) stock 250r timming is not adjustable.

wilkin250r
02-20-2006, 03:34 PM
I'll just echo what Matt said.

Unless you have something fancy, the timing isn't adjustable. If the flywheel is on the crank, and the flywheel key is in place, then the timing is set and correct.

For a definitive answer, pull off the left side cover (the side opposite the kickstarter). If you're careful, you won't even need to replace the gasket, but a little liquid gasket sealer wouldn't hurt upon reassembly.

Look at the pickup, make sure it's not bent or broken. Look for metal shavings or signs of damage.

trx450rlude
02-20-2006, 03:55 PM