PDA

View Full Version : who knows about guns???

tom400ex
02-03-2006, 12:01 PM
I just getting my pistol permit so I'm new to guns and what I should be looking for. I really like .45cals or 9mm, but whats the big differnce between the two?? from what I gan gather 9mm a little easier to control

02-03-2006, 12:07 PM
Well what are you going to use it for? Hunting, target pratice, hanging it out you car window while going 20MPH past fellow drug dealers?:p

tom400ex
02-03-2006, 12:11 PM
yeah a little bit of all that lol.
mostly target maybe some hunting and some home protection. not I need it but ya never know.:D

basically I'm looking for a all around good gun. the 400ex of guns I guess

antman
02-03-2006, 12:15 PM
the main difference between 9mm and .45acp is that is the 9mm bullet is about half the size of the .45acp and dosent pack as much power. in my opinion they are both good it really depends what the use is going to be. here is a link that will help you more... http://www.hipowersandhandguns.com/Defensive%20Browning%20Hi%20Power.htm

MOFO
02-03-2006, 12:28 PM
I have a Glock 23... .40 cal. I think its a great "in between" round from a 9mm to a .45.

Good speed/power combo.

If you want something that will be used for alot of target shooting, go with the 9mm. Cheap ammo and easier to shoot for a beginner.

tom400ex
02-03-2006, 12:29 PM
Thanks antman i'm going to read that now

tom400ex
02-03-2006, 12:39 PM
MOFO i shot a 9mm before and a .45 the 9mm was really weasy to shoot and the .45 to me felt heavier and had more recoil.
what about the .40cal how does that compare????

rneal
02-03-2006, 12:49 PM
Is it going to be a daily carry gun or an occasional carry gun? How are you built? (most 45's are usually hard to conceal)

You need to pick a primary purpose for the firearm.

You will not be hunting with a 9 or 45.

Watch out for the 45's with 2" barrels, accuracy is sketchy at best.