PDA

View Full Version : New to Honda!

Tacomac
01-29-2006, 06:55 AM
Hello all.......im a newbie on this site and would really like a non-biased honest opinion on my first sport quad purchase. I started out on a 250 trailblazer so you all know what kind of power i was dealing with. I was wondering how the ex handles compared to the Z/Kfx. Which would be a better overall machine. I have never ridden a Honda quad much. Mostly older suzuki quads that i grew up on.

i was also wondering what were the most recent upgrades done on the ex400. From what i've read, i believe its mostly plastic and reverse for 05/06. When was the last time the motor, frame, suspension, etc was upgraded. Does Honda plan on making a liquid cooled 400 in the future?

Thanks for your time
Kyle

vpofthedrc
01-29-2006, 08:38 AM
I've been very happy with my 05 400, but I will say, I like the feel of my buddies Z over my EX. It seems to have a little better handling, and just a touch more topend.

01-29-2006, 09:00 AM
yeah, the z is a little quicker, but the 400ex handles better and is way more reliable. my buddy has a z400 and nuthing but problems.

NCexRider
01-29-2006, 09:33 AM
I've known people to have problems with their Z's as well. They do have more power, but are also more top heavy and don't handle as well. Not to mention the issue with the coolant and magnesium clutch cover. The 400EX is one of the best all round machines you can buy. Plenty of power, good handling in the trails, and reliable as all get out. I rode with a guy yesterday who had a '99 EX and has only ever changed the oil, no valve adjustment or anything, and has never had a problem with it. You're right, plastics and reverse were the only major upgrades on the 05 and 06's along with a little bit different factory gearing. And no, with most of technology focused on the new 450's, I wouldn't look for a liquid cooled 400EX in the future.

Hondaexboy
01-29-2006, 11:15 AM