PDA

View Full Version : New to the jumps....any tips for me....

Sportrax 400EX
07-10-2002, 01:11 PM
I'm new to the quad scene and wanted to know the best way to take jumps. I have hit a few but always seem to land nose down and have come close to being bucked off a few times. What am I doing wrong? Thanks!

Razorback
07-10-2002, 01:18 PM
you absolutely must stay on the throttle all the way through the jump. when i first started, what is happening to you was happening to me. if you let off the gas right before you jump, the nose will drop like a rock. just rip on the gas until the quad is airborne and it will help.

also, if you do feel like your nose is diving, start giving it gas and it will try to level out for you. if you feel it falling back, tap the rear brake to make it lunge forward. it takes some practice to get used to this, though. don't use the front brakes though.

most importantly, practice, practice, practice...

honda250xrider
07-10-2002, 01:24 PM
stand with your knees bent and be in the middle of the seat as you take the jump then as you become air born if you feel you are going forward lean back and give it some gas that will help level it back out

JabberJaw
07-10-2002, 03:52 PM
ALWAYS land on top of your bike!

Pappy
07-10-2002, 04:37 PM
Originally posted by JabberJaw
ALWAYS land on top of your bike!

shoot....i knew id been missing something!!!:D

FoxRacing400EX
07-10-2002, 06:06 PM
Check out the august issue of dirt wheels, they have a how to section with jumps, wheelies, hills, and mud. Pretty good information, but nothing is better than good 'ol fashioned practice.:D Good luck brother.:macho

Sportrax 400EX
07-11-2002, 04:32 AM
Thanks for the tips guys. I'm sure you know how scary it can be to almost go over the front bars. I'll have to take it easy and practice more.

Thanks!

07-11-2002, 10:10 PM
these amatures dont no what there talkin about...