PDA

View Full Version : How would this 250R setup run...

04'400ex'er
01-16-2006, 08:44 AM
I am kinda new to the whole 250R scene here. I am seriously contemplating buying a 250r instead of a new 450r. I am just wanting to know how a 250R with a full exhaust, K&N, airbox removed, 265 bore weisco prolite, v force reeds and cage, cool head, and a cr 250 ignition would run compare to the 450s. would that setup be a good reliable motor? I am just looking for ideas about how the power and hp range would be compared to newer machines. any help or ideas about things i should or shouldnt do are greatly appreciated.

TheFontMaster
01-16-2006, 09:57 AM
With that setup the motor is enought to beat a stock, or piped 450 in a drag. The motor should be putting out 35-40 horse power, check in the dyno section, I think there was a dyno sheet from a 250r that was similar to the one you have. The CR ignition is more for MX raceing, it has a lighter CR250 flywheel. Does it have any suspension mods to it? Because you easily get a 250 to out handle any of the newer quads out there. What year is the motor? If it is using an 86 piston, you are set for many more bores. If it is using the 87-89 piston, then the cylinder is on it's last bore, so you would ether have to get a new cylinder, or get this one re-sleeved. They make the 86 piston in bigger bores than the 87-89 pistons. You could also put an 86 piston on the 87-89 rod, and add a spacer plate to the bottom of your cylinder.

hondardr4life
01-16-2006, 02:57 PM
Fontmaster, I have a spacer plate setup in my motor, so I'm assuming its an 86 piston on the 89 bottom end. So what your saying is that if I bore it to a 265 (.080 over), I will still have bores left after that??

04'400ex'er
01-16-2006, 03:55 PM
Originally posted by TheFontMaster