PDA

View Full Version : Mechanical Engineering

Crashmore 22
01-11-2006, 06:58 PM
Currently in my Junior year of Mechanical Engineering.

01-11-2006, 06:59 PM
cool----4000 posts and Im glad it meant something

TREDZ71
01-11-2006, 07:12 PM
i'm a mech engineer by trade....where are you studying?

my favorite classes had to be fluids and maechaincs.

McG300ex
01-11-2006, 08:11 PM
hey i'm in high school what kind of requirements do you have to have to be a mechanical enigneer. like english credits math science did you have to take a foreign language.

TREDZ71
01-11-2006, 08:20 PM
i had no requirements to get into ME plan, but I did have to take placement exams to get accpeted to the college. the test gauged where i was and what i needed more focus on....mainly to see what generals i required.

450robot
01-11-2006, 08:32 PM
any other info from anyone else on what requirments are needed? i to, someday want to become a mech. engineer

Tommy 17
01-11-2006, 08:33 PM
Originally posted by McG300ex
hey i'm in high school what kind of requirements do you have to have to be a mechanical enigneer. like english credits math science did you have to take a foreign language.

i'm in mechanical engineering at penn state... sophmore year...

heres what u need... A DAMN GOOD MATH, PHYSICS, CHEMISTRY BACKGROUND!!! you need atleast pre calc or better, a good background in physics, and chemistry is nearly impossible...

expect to be sittin in your room studyin while ur budies are out drinking...

to stay in ME i needed a 3.0 at the end of my 3rd semester... i had a 3.22...

theres no language classes for me... i only had to take what i took in highschool!

TREDZ71
01-11-2006, 08:40 PM
I agree with Tommy...it may sound cliche, but strong self discipline is REQUIRED as well....above all, enjoy it. I found that when I stressed out, it only made it harder.

Good luck.

Tommy 17
01-11-2006, 09:45 PM
heres my classes over the last 4 semester so u can get an idea of what u'll have to do...