PDA

View Full Version : Twist Throttle

BIGRED400
07-06-2002, 08:29 AM
Tell me the pros and cons of twist throttles , I ordered a vortex throttle for my 400 ,tired of my thumb hurting .....thanks

2002 400ex
2002 250 ex

cdalejef
07-06-2002, 09:23 AM
The opinions are going to differ for everyone. I like a twist throttle because my background is in bike racing. The big negative I here from the guys that normally run a thumb then try a twist is they grab a handfull of throttle and can't let off.:huh

Pappy
07-06-2002, 10:35 AM
hahaha...cant let off!! been there felt like that before!! its all a matter of practice...and what ya got used too. i think i have better control in the corners with a twist and dont mind one in the woods. but i cant get the whoop section and some jumps down with the twist.

QuadRacer041
07-07-2002, 04:55 AM
ive always used a twist from my 200x, blaster,400,and R. i cant ride with a thumb throttle i dont know why i just cant.twist works great for me, the one thing that i like the best is when im jumping my whole right hand is on the grip as apossed to just part like on a thumd that makes me so much more comfortable, the one neg that will take some getting used to is whoop's, its easier to loose control because your usually on and off the gas and going over those whoops kinda makes you chop the twist and that can get you out of control be you will get used to it.

crashinmatt
07-07-2002, 06:11 AM
i have a twist and love it. i would want it any other way. some of the pros would be u have ur whole hand on the grips at all times, and its a whole different experience. some of the cons would be, my friend had this problem, left turns at first, when u turn ur wrist twists the throttle and u take off. like others r sayin in the whoops, i like mine for jumps though. so basically its more of a personal preference. if u grew up on bikes and stuff then it will feel natural, others, like me, just want it cuz they like it better.

CranMan