PDA

View Full Version : Race Gas?

4LEAFCLOVER
01-09-2006, 07:14 AM
Hey guys I'm about to install a full Rossier Exhaust short can and a 13:1 JE piston on my 450R. I want to know if I should run 100 octane or should I run 110 octane? There's a store around my way that I was told sold both but since I'm new to this race gas thing, I was wondering what you guys were burning. And will it mess up anything by using such a high octane of gas? Your help would greatly be appreciated.http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v651/tavaresclover/100_0682.jpg

fast-trx450r
01-09-2006, 08:06 AM
if the 100 is unleaded then i would run the 110. having the lead in the gas can only help the longevity of the top end because of its lubricating and cooling abilities for the valves.

4LEAFCLOVER
01-09-2006, 08:14 AM
Thanks for your help. So what does changing out the carb and getting different carbs help when modding your quad. Am I going to have to do that to run race gas or will the stock carberator hold up?

dirtmomma
01-09-2006, 08:24 AM
WOW nice quad :P I work w/ a guy that is a Jason FAN BIG TIME, I'll have to show him your quad he'll freak out LOL :)

as for the fuel we run 1/2 110 & 1/2 92 works nice we don't have any MAJOR mods but my brother who has a built TT500 run the same a little less costly too than running straight 110

What kind of racing do you do if any?? I just noticed you have Hoosiers up front do you flattrack or TT??

4LEAFCLOVER
01-09-2006, 08:46 AM