PDA

View Full Version : would it be crazy?

pastfast125
01-01-2006, 10:25 AM
would it be crazy to make your own a arms? Not saying I would, just wondering though. I'm sure it's hard, anybody ever attempted this?

ZeroLogic
01-01-2006, 10:55 AM
It would be extreamly difficult. Just leave it to the pros.;)

Joe400ex
01-01-2006, 10:58 AM
i have never tryd it but i have thought about it. I now a guy that works with steel and aluminum, and i was going to ask him if he would be able to do it, but he said no.

TheFontMaster
01-01-2006, 11:44 AM
If you know how to work with metal pretty good, could weld, and had a set of a arms to use as a model then it shouldn't be too hard. I want to eventualy make my own parts like a arms, and swingarm, but I don't havea acces to the right tools, mainly a good tubing bender, and I am a good welder, but I need a little more practice untill I would trust my welds to hold on parts like that, that take such a beating.

pastfast125
01-01-2006, 11:48 AM
yea, I probably wouldn't even try unless I had a tig welder to use

I only have a mig. I can stick stuff together good, but it certainly doesn't look good, might look better if I use argon or co2 or something rather than flux core wire.

Rip_Tear
01-01-2006, 05:50 PM
I'm a machinist, but I'd say it'd be pretty easy, provided you copied the mounts from another set of a-arms, and lengths, so you can get shocks set up properly for the a-arms.

pastfast125
01-01-2006, 06:20 PM
everybody with aftermarket Aarms should post specs like all the dimensions of their a arms up here so somebody can try making a pair. I'd be willing to give it a try. also it'd be cool to try making a swingarm. Think it could be made out of like 2x2 square tubing, make like a framework of it, then if you want for looks, mold some sheetmetal or something to make it nice looking.

scramblerracer
01-01-2006, 08:19 PM