PDA

View Full Version : 86R resto project ?'s

VZTech
12-29-2005, 11:39 AM
Hello Everyone, a 250r newbie here. I just bought and all original 86 250r from my cousins. My uncle bought it back in 1991 and it was like new but they did not know what they had gotten,they used it to drag the local baseball field. Ha, Ha. I have been trying to buy it ever since but they would not sell it,well I finally have been able to buy my dream quad that I have wanted for so long. But it is not like new anymore. It is in excellent shape for being used but not abused. It is all original,nothing aftermarket on it. But the left side case has been busted under the gear shift lever from the chain coming off. I have gotten a new left side case for it and a service manual. I am wanting to restore it back to original as close as possible. My ? is while I have the motor out I thought I would put a new crank in it considering the motor is 20 yrs old and never had anything but top end rebuilds,but I have found out that a 86 short rod crank is no longer available from Honda and I do not want a aftermarket from what I have read on here. So once I get the motor apart if the crank assy looks good do I put it back in even though it is 20 yrs old or do I go ahead and put in a long rod from 87-89 in it and not have to worry about it for a long time. I am looking for opinions here on what to do, I want to keep it original but due to the extensive tear down it takes to get the crank out I don't want to be doing this again in a year or so. Sorry for the long post but I wanted to give some history on the bike,I have wanted it for a loooong time.

xlr810
12-29-2005, 02:44 PM
Congrats on your purchase, and welcome to the 250R forum.

Nice story. Patience and persistance usually pay off. However, I picked up a vibe of indecision from you...

What kind of experience do you have working on motors? What is your budget?