PDA

View Full Version : A few 250r questions

hondardr4life
12-25-2005, 04:22 PM
Ok, I am going to look at an 89 mx ready 250r this week, and I need to know some of the things to look out for on the 250. I am completely new to 250r's and 2 strokes in general, but I know a lot about 4 strokes, so I figure the 2 will just be even easier. I know obviously to look for frame cracks, but I would like to know where they are most prone to cracking, so I can take a good look. Then are there any other little things I should check for?

Assuming I buy this 250 (which I plan on as long as its in good shape), which oil is the best to mix with my gas, what octane gas should I run, I was thinking 94, and what gas to oil ratio should I run? The motor is ported and polished, has a carb, and a spacer plate, so I'm thinking its either an 86 top end on an 89 bottom end, or that it is stroked. I was probablly just going to run the Honda synthetic pre mix or w/e it is, but let me know what you guys think.

Dave83
12-25-2005, 05:33 PM
Cracks/breaks-footpeg area around the swinger mounts,all motor mounts,and the steering stem mount braces are the most common areas.
Gas-you will need to do a compression check to know what octane you will need.Once compression reaches 190+ you will have to run race gas(most use someting in the 108-112 range)
Oil/pre-mix= You can start a heated debate on this topic.One guy will swear by a brand while another will swear at it.The Honda stuff is liked by alot of R owners.I use Maxima,and have used Bel-Ray HR-1 in the past.Just switched to the Max on ESR recomendation and the fact my dealer gives me a good deal.

hondardr4life
12-25-2005, 06:11 PM
ok thanks. I guess I'll have to get myself a compression tester. Is there anything else I should check/ watch out for??

hondardr4life
12-26-2005, 08:42 AM
What about the gas to oil ratio?

Dave83
12-26-2005, 04:08 PM