PDA

View Full Version : Any Electronics Guru's out there?

aviator4
12-16-2005, 05:07 PM
Hey guys,

I'm not an electronics expert, by any means. I have been working on NiCad Charging circuit for the last couple of days that has me stumped.

It uses an op/amp some basic transistors and several capacitors to do peak detection. (one capacitor charges on a "delay" rate, once the peak is hit, there is a small voltage drop and the op/amp shuts the charging circuit off.

Anyway, I can't get the two capacitors to "do their thing." I can forward the link to the page where I got the schematic and a more detailed description if someone out there would be willing to help.

If you know anything about electronics and think you can help, please let me know.

wilkin250r
12-16-2005, 05:40 PM
Anyone? Anyone?

Ok, I guess I'll field this one. Send me the link and description.

aviator4
12-16-2005, 05:46 PM
Thanks Wilkin, This is a real head scratcher.

http://homepages.paradise.net.nz/bhabbott/charger.html

that description show what it's SUPPOSED to do... but here's what it REALLY does...

C3 does what it's supposed to do, it reflects the voltage of the battery. C1, however the voltage just starts to climb uncontrollably. When the switch is pressed, C1 does short out and the circuit starts to charge, but in only charges 1-2 seconds before it shuts off.

When I take voltage readins on both, C3 shows the proper coltage (3.7 to 3.9 volts) but C1just continues to climb up to 9-10 volts.

I'm confused.

wilkin250r
12-16-2005, 05:52 PM
It's 5 o-clock on a Friday, I probably won't be able to get to this until Monday.

But, I do happen to dabble a little in electronics, I should be able to help you.

wilkin250r
12-19-2005, 09:48 AM
Check your value of R3 and C2. That's my first guess. In fact, check ALL values around that area. C2, R2 and R3, and R4.