PDA

View Full Version : Valve job

Johnny B
12-14-2005, 08:52 AM
i have never had to adjust valves in any of my quads over the years and now that i have a 450 the time has come. the problem is that i ripped the head off my wheeler, and set the timing marks up because i am installing a cam and before i did anything i checked the clearences. the exhaust was fine but when i went to check the intake they are too tight. I tried all the way down to .002 on both intake valves and the tool still will not fit. i have shims but i was just wondering if it is normal to be that much off ( i would not think!) but im not an expert. any advice would be great! My quad ran great by the way.

TRXDresh
12-14-2005, 06:52 PM
If they are stock valves, they should not tighten up that much. I would reshim the head and check it again after 5 hrs. If it tightens up again, take it to a Honda shop and see what they say.

WhiteZee
12-14-2005, 10:01 PM
my intakes had no clearance at all, i had to get -.010 smaller shims to get my clearence back to .006.

i could turn my motor over by hand using the kick start, after i had the valves adjusted right, it was extremely hard to do by hand. it gave my much more bottom end after adjusting them, it felt like i was riding a 400ex.

Johnny B
12-15-2005, 08:02 AM
Really? well i reshimed them yesterday to where i think they should be but i am not sure how easly the feeler gauge should slide through whin they are ajusted right

Z-135
12-15-2005, 12:41 PM
I just had my values adjusted and they where tight. The smallest feeler gauge would not even fit. There should be a little pressure on the feeler gauge when you slide it in and out. Mine became very hard to start. So if anyone is having trouble getting there's started, that maybe the problem. I went ahead and had a Hotcam stage 1 installed when it was all apart. Looking forward to riding it to see how it does.

honda350r
12-15-2005, 12:44 PM
Originally posted by Johnny B