PDA

View Full Version : Callin out the 250r engine gurus 250r builders? combos for great power stock cylinder

slamdak8782
11-07-2005, 06:18 PM
Ok heres the problem I have a 250r I just got it and I want to know the best dome to run? Would a 265 or a 295 be better? I want a 250r with good bottom end and even better top end and mid range. I was going to do 295 bore. Is that the best bang for the buck? Seems pretty good to me. I am not opposed to running the 86 piston with my stock 89 long rod and the spacer plate. I have a guy here who does bore work cheap so a new sleeve isn't all that bad price wise. I I also read about wiseco racers edge pistons that were cut so you could port for better performance. I want a combination that absolutely rips and the best I can do without buing the esr 310 or anytthing like that. Iknow how to build an engine but im very new to the 2stroke and thought maybe someone could steer me in the right direction. :confused: :D

zedicus00
11-07-2005, 08:05 PM
well lets start on the intake side and work our way through.

get a good highflow airfilter, some sware by the foamy jobs, i personally run a K&N with a waterproof outerwears.

carb, dont be afraid of beeing to big, get atleast a 38A/S keihin carb, im running a 40 keihin PWK and still hav good low-mid power.

reeds an intake boot. soft reeds allow better bottom end but flutter at high rpm, hard reeds cut out a lil bottom end but dont flutter in high rpm range. there r dual stage reeds that supposedly allow good bottom end and dont flutter but im not fond of them. i do run a set in my girlfriends blaster though. i use a ported v-force 3 carbon fiber reed setup with an aluminum intake that was also ported, did cut out a lil low end over a softer reed but they hold together great and r worth it i think