PDA

View Full Version : timing chain replacement

parts eeter
11-06-2005, 03:34 PM
I am going to replace my timing chain when i rebuil my engine.I would like to know if the chain just comes off of the bottom sprocket or do I have to break the chain to remove it.?? I am new to the fourstrokers?? I know some of you will laugh at me for asking!! Still need to know though.Second I am installing a big bore kit and a stage 2 cam.I want to use a reliable chain.Should I go OEM or aftermarket?? If aftermarket info on the preferred chain and contact info would be great!! Thanks all.:p

JOEX
11-06-2005, 05:41 PM
400ex?

No chain breaker required. Many people use a stock crf450 timing chain, it is beefier and cheaper than the stock 400ex. I don't remember what year though:ermm:

DAVE14
11-06-2005, 05:53 PM
dont break the chain u must take the side cover off to put the new one on anyway u really should buy a manual if youre gonna tear this thing apart anyway I just did a high compression 440 that is strong as hell ( use heavy studs for high comp. though) I bought a 02 crf 450 timing chain same lenghth fits fine & an extra link thicker & cheaper than aftermarket ,get a book take it apart at TDC with the timing mark aligned at the pointer in side cover inspection hole ,mark & pay attention to cam gear & cam position upon removal & check the valve adjustment article on this site take your time ask anything your not sure of & u should be fine .

parts eeter
11-06-2005, 06:56 PM