PDA

View Full Version : Just got a 400ex

00Red400EX
06-19-2002, 10:46 PM
I just bought me a 00 400ex and I have a few questions. Im new to the whole mod your quad thing. I want performance first. Where should I start. Should I get a k&n filter or is there something better. What is jetting and piping? Sorry if the questions are dumb but I am totally new to this. Thanks for any help guys!!!

--Josh

honda 400ex 69
06-19-2002, 10:48 PM
get a pipe and a jet kit thats what i did

honda 400ex 69
06-19-2002, 10:49 PM
get the t-4
i will tell u how i like it when i put it on

VegasEx'r
06-19-2002, 10:59 PM
Originally posted by 00Red400EX
What is jetting and piping?

There are 2 jets in your carb. The pilot (or slow) jet & the main jet. There is also a needle & a mixture screw. Jetting refers to changing these components to produce more power. It is a little complicated & confusing at first, but after a while, you'll start to get the hang of it. I think there is an article in the tech section here. Piping a quad is changing the silencer, the header, or both. It's usually a good first step, along with a new filter & rejetting. On a stock quad, most exhausts will produce about the same amount of HP, but if you do other mods (like a piston, cam, port/polish, etc) then different pipes will yield different amounts of HP at different times.

00Red400EX
06-19-2002, 11:24 PM
VegasEx'r: Are there different size jets? What brand is the best. Will they hurt the reliabilty of the quad? Thanks for answering my questions!

honda 400ex 69 : Thanks for the help!

--Josh

CR125Rider
06-20-2002, 11:02 AM
I'd go for the K&N power kit, and get a pipe. The K&N power kit gives you three jets i think, each a different stage, so the more mods you do, the bigger the jet. It has a filter and pre charger and stuff, but it helps a lot. It gives instructions in it and stuff, so i'd get the power kit if anything for the first mod.

phatswinn
06-20-2002, 11:13 AM