PDA

View Full Version : Why do ATV's get such bad press?

aviator4
11-02-2005, 11:02 AM
Seems like everytime I hear ATV's menitioned on the local news, it's always about some kid getting himself killed on one. BUT, they don't cover every motorcycle accident, or skateboarding accident or whatever.

So why does the media have it in for our sport? I don't get it. It seems unfair.If I knew of a way to battle it, I would. I'm sick of our sport getting such a bad name.

wilkin250r
11-02-2005, 11:06 AM
The more I ride, the more I firmly believe that ATVs are inherently dangerous. More so than cars or motorcycles.

Sorry, it's the truth.

aviator4
11-02-2005, 11:09 AM
True, they are, but even the manufactureres make that CRYSTAL clear, all you have to do is read the warning labels on the fenders to get a general idea that it can be dangerous.

Do you think they are more dangerous than, say a MX motorcycle? I have no experience on motorcycles, but seems like they are close to being in the same category as an ATV. What do you think?

wilkin250r
11-02-2005, 11:24 AM
No, I honestly think they are more dangerous than a motorcycle.

Think about it. Would any parent give their 12yr old the keys to the car, and let them go drive on their own? Of course not, they know that cars are dangerous, because they are familiar with cars, they drive every day.

A motorcycle is unstable at low speeds, conveniently the speeds that most beginners start. Right away, the motorcycle feels dangerous, and thus it commands respect. People immediatly recognize it as dangerous, and take proper precautions. And it takes time to develop the skill required for higher speeds.