PDA

View Full Version : Need some expertise on Motor (please read)

bad01300ex
10-24-2005, 11:33 PM
ok i posted this over at YFZCentral as well, trying to get as many opinions as possilbe.

ok this will be a long post but need to figure my motor problems out.

Got my yfz last may, bought it used (an 04) for 4500, the guy i boutght it from had an FMF titanium slipon and he said he jetted it for it. He also said that he had been riding it and it started smoking so he replaced the top end. Well i figured it was fine so i bought it anyway. From the day i brought it home it was backfiring and i figured thats just what they do then i read into it and realzied it ment it was lean. well i kept riding it and and i started to have some battery problems, of coures i figured it was the headlight deal. In the mean time i put on a k&n filter which made the backfiring worse. I started riding it at the track and noticed a clickin/rattling noise while riding and thought it was my chain and didnt think much about it.

Well i figured out the noise was happening when i wasnt rolling so it was coming from my motor after asking around at the track a few people seemed to think it was my bottom end. well me and my friend tore into it and checked the compression which was 30 so now we new somethin was up. we checked the valve clearenses and the intake valves were stuck open, the when we got to the cylinder the walls were scarred up and one side had a groove around the top.

so i orderd valve spacers, cylinder and new toppend and figured this would take care of things. I also got a HMF slipon which came with a 170 main and 48 pilot. well after weeks of waiting for parts i finally got everything on, jets in (which by the way the previus jets were 162 and 42) turned the fuel screw out 2.5 turns.

well tonight me and my friend go to break in the new topend and what do you know the noise is still there and it still backfires like a mother f+++!!!! but it runs extrememly well