PDA

View Full Version : Switching college?

fasterz
10-19-2005, 12:09 PM
Right now im attending Wilkes university in wilkes barre pa. Im a freshman and going to major in mechanical engineering. I want to come out of school with the knowlegde of how to, design, build prototype, test, and retail. I am wanting to be in the atv industry so it would entail arms, swingarms, and such. Things may end up going towards cars though, im not sure but its all similar. Right now im learning nothing I want to learn at wilkes, i dont like the other students, there is nothing to do, and i dont like some of the staff memebers at all. Im thinking of switching school but i dont know where, i want to stay not to far. My home is like 30 mins from philly. Also would i be better off in automototive engineering or mechanical?

wilkin250r
10-19-2005, 12:29 PM
Originally posted by fasterz
Right now im learning nothing I want to learn at wilkes,

This simple fact isn't going to change. In ANY school, your first semesters are fundamentals and theory, you have a LONG way to go before learning actual applications.

You need calculus before you can take Statics, and you need statics before you can take Dynamics, and you need Dynamics before you can take Strength of Materials, and you need Strength before you can properly design an A-arm to handle the stresses placed on it by riding. You need to know how to calculate the thicknesses required, the geometry, weak points, ect.

Now, if you don't like your teachers, that's a different issue.

fasterz
10-19-2005, 12:39 PM
Originally posted by wilkin250r
This simple fact isn't going to change. In ANY school, your first semesters are fundamentals and theory, you have a LONG way to go before learning actual applications.