PDA

View Full Version : Hard Starting 04' 450r

4stroke Convert
10-16-2005, 08:18 PM
IM NEW TO 4 STOKES BUT BEEN RIDING AND RACING 250R FOR YEARS. I JUST BOUGHT A 04' 450R THAT IS ALL STOCK MOTOR WISE. THE PROBLEM IS IT IS VERY HARD TO KICK WHEN COLD AND SEEMS LIKE YOU HAVE TO KICK IT A BUNCH OF TIMES TO GET IT FIRED. AND PRETTY MUCH THE SAME PROBLEM WHEN HOT. NOW THE COMPRESTION RELEASE MAKES IT EASIER TO KICK . BUT THERES TIMES ILL KICK IT 10 TIMES AND NOT START THEN IT WILL SIT FOR A MINUTE AND IT WILL START ON FIRST KICK.IM 220 AND CAN KICK A HARLY IF I HAD TOO BUT DIDN'T EXPECT THIS FROM A HONDA. I RODE TODAY MET A NOTHER GUY WITH AN 04' AND HE KICK HIS ALL DAY FROM THE SEATED POSITION AND IT FIRED ON THE FIRST KICK EVER TIME AND HELP WOULD BE GREAT THANKS

shamisc
10-17-2005, 05:46 AM
First off, welcome to the site!
That button that you're referring to as the comp release is actually a hot start button that leans out the carb for easier starts. Here's how I start mine:

Cold engine: I turn the gas on, pump the throttle with 2 quick stabs, make sure my choke is on fully, hold the Hot Start button, and step down 1-2 full kicks. I too start mine from a seated position once its warm. **** DO NOT PUMP THROTTLE WHILE KICKING!!!!! ****

Hot Engine: I just press the Hot Start and step down with a full kick. It usually starts the first time. It is so critical that you DO NOT press the throttle while trying to start. It will cause the engine to kick back and bust the kick-starter right out of the cases!!!

If these tips don't work for you, you may want to check your jetting. If the bike isn't close to the proper jetting, it will be a mother to start! Hope this helps ya!
** Also, make sure you turn your caps button off! You'll catch H3LL for that here! **;)

s2k1
10-17-2005, 07:45 AM