PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Put A Battery On There R ??

lee37vernon
10-11-2005, 04:28 PM
MAKING QUAD ROAD LEGAL IN U.K AND REALLY MAKES LIFE EASIER IF I HAVE A BATTERY . I THOUGHT I COULD JUST PUT ONE IN LINE WITH THE WIRING BUT I LOOKED AT TRAIL TECH WEB SITE , FOR HID LIGHTS ON R U NEED BATTERY , BUT ONLY REALLY SAYS YOU NEED TO FLOAT GROUND AT STATOR AND BUY THEIR RECTIFIER ....!!!

ANYONE ELSE DONE THIS . IF SO HOW EASY WAS IT ??

wilkin250r
10-11-2005, 05:45 PM
You just want something to run your lights? Believe it or not, that's not too difficult to do.

Right now yoru electrical system is AC (Alternating Current). If you want to convert your ENTIRE electrical system to DC (direct current), then you will need to float the stator.

Or, to make life easier, you can just isolate your lights from the rest of your electrical system. ;)

I'm an electrical engineer, tell me exactly what you want to do, and I can help you.

Cr85rRida
10-11-2005, 07:33 PM
winkin i want to run lights on my R but i want to be able to turn them on/off with a switch. I have a tether cord right now and was wondering if i hooked them up to my stator would i be able to control them on and off?

250-R-250
10-11-2005, 07:41 PM
I am not real sure and dont try this without wilkins approvel, but couldnt you just splice in a Switch, and fuse in the cord on the lights.

Tom TRX250R
10-11-2005, 08:36 PM
Yeah you can splice into the wires and install a switch for the lights, I have seen it several times on 250Rs.

beerock
10-11-2005, 08:46 PM
if you want the best set up for lights buy a ricky stator 200 watt stator and there 100 watt per light clamp set up. Honestly I would use a OEM honda switch with the high and low light setting and on and off.

lee37vernon
10-12-2005, 08:03 AM
wilkin you have a pm

wilkin250r
10-12-2005, 10:24 AM
I saw the PM, but let's handle this out in the open. The whole point of this forum is to share information, and there might be other people interested.