PDA

View Full Version : Flat Track Racers

grude73
09-29-2005, 01:11 AM
Hi,

Im extremely interested in racing flat track or TT style, but am a complete novice in this area.

Is there any riders here who race or have raced this format who would be interested in giving some advise.

Mostly I need help with bike setup, I would most likely ride the veteran class.

Could someone suggest a bike that would be a suitable start, I cant see my 400ex making it - maybe 250r/450r/yfz ???? What type of shock/Arm setup is common, and I presume a sway bar is considered standard.

I am currently reading the rulebook & hope I will get something from it.

Any & all advise is appreciated....

Thanks

Gareth

kc 300EX
09-29-2005, 01:25 PM
Plenty of people I know race 400EX's. They're not bad on smaller tracks, but on larger ones, it's all about the power. A 450R would be ideal.

For starters, I would go with a good set of tires all around. Brand new they are pretty pricey. Check ebay or the classifieds for a used set.

Front and rear lowering kit is almost a must if you're using stock suspension.

A sway bar is also a must. Check for used ones on ebay or again in the classifieds.

Low and wide is the way to go. Rear axle and ext. a-arms are nice. If you cant afford that then wheel spacers will do you fine. Thats what I run. 2" wheel spacers in the back and offset rims in the front.

baseballplaya23
09-29-2005, 10:48 PM