PDA

View Full Version : Racing ATV's or Motorcycles...what is safer??

jhoppa
09-28-2005, 05:31 PM
Okay, I was reading on another post that DNR did not allow ATV youth races because they thought it was too dangerous. I guess, they figure kids are more likely NOT to get hurt on motorcycles.

Who beleives this???

IMO- This is my first year racing ATV's. Grew up on motorcycles, but never raced. I have been tempted to get a motorcycle, but nervous that I would get the itch to ride TOO fast, and end up in a tree and hurt myself more than a ATV.

I also think an ATV is much more difficult to ride FAST, than a motorcycle. ATV's are getting bumps from 4 wheels while motorcycles get bumps from 2 wheels.

Have a lot of people been hurt by ATV's rolling over on them? I know a lot of people use this as an excuse not to ride ATV's. A 200lb motorcycle feels better than a 400lb ATV when it lands on your back.

Interested in your comments...

markk
09-28-2005, 10:46 PM
I honestly have always felt safer on quads than bikes. There really isn't to much danger in either one of the two off-road vehicles. People just have to know there limits and limatations and ride using there head.

I feel safer on a quad, but a bike is alot more forgiving on the rider in most cases.

Im also intrested in this thread!

WORCSYFZ199
09-28-2005, 11:23 PM
I think in general a quad is less likely to crash because of the better stability and not having to concentrate on the balance as much, but on the other hand when one crashes on a quad it is usually more painful or violent considering the size of the machine crushing you so I think quads are safer to ride, bikes are more forgiving in crashes and hard landings.

baker250r
09-29-2005, 10:20 AM