PDA

View Full Version : somethings wrong in the rear...

Tommy 17
06-12-2002, 03:13 PM
well i just got back from vacation and i took my 400 for a ride... its not riding straight it goes left... i have equal tire pressure in all tires 5psi... if i look at the rear of my quad the swing arm doesn't seem to be in line with my frame... it looks to be bent to the left of my quad... what could i have bent... i can't find any cracks on the swing arm or frame... i think it happened when i cased that double and bottomed it out hard... what should i check guyz... i don't have a pic right now but i took some and i gotta get them developed... i dunno whats up... can the paint hide a crack in the swing arm???

JabberJaw
06-12-2002, 03:21 PM
"somethings wrong in the rear... "

Sounds like you better go see a doctor! And, No, paint won't hide your crack..... if that would have worked, I would have done it years ago! I know, I used to be a plumber!

"Uh-Oh, Better get Rico!"

Tommy 17
06-12-2002, 03:51 PM
haha i should have known better to post something like this with jabber around hahaha. u crack me up man!

mrusk
06-12-2002, 06:26 PM
cross your fingers that you didnt tweak the frame:confused:

matt

06-13-2002, 08:14 AM
Only thing I can think of is your bearings are shot in the carrier or swingarm bearings...Tommy jack the SOB up in the air,,make sure it's sitting stable and start pullin on the rear end..Your chain runs down the left side of the quad,,so if anything is loose in the rear end..the torque from the chain pulling is gonna cause your quad to veer to the left..follow me..also tip that bad boy back on the grab bar and go over the complete bottom end of it..especially check the swingarm up around the front were it meets the frame,,that's were they crack and usually it starts on the bottom.

bradley300
06-13-2002, 10:44 AM
does it have a popping sound when you go up hills? if so your bearings are bad. alway check the rear axle nut every 2 or 3 rides.

Tommy 17